Previous
Better Than the Movies

Better Than the Movies

419.00
Next

Just For The Summer

659.00
Just For The Summer

Fathomfolk

759.00

Paperback

Free Shipping

Revolution is brewing in the semi-submerged city of Tiankawi, between humans and the fathomfolk who live in its waters. This gloriously imaginative debut fantasy, inspired by East Asian mythology and ocean folk tales, is a novel of magic, rebellion and change.

Welcome to Tiankawi – shining pearl of human civilization and a safe haven for those fleeing civil unrest. Or at least, that’s how it first appears. But in the semi-flooded city, humans are, quite literally, on top: peering down from shining towers and aerial walkways on the fathomfolk – sirens, seawitches, kelpies and kappas – who live in the polluted waters below.

For half-siren Mira, promotion to captain of the border guard means an opportunity to help her downtrodden people. But if earning the trust and respect of her human colleagues wasn’t hard enough, everything Mira has worked towards is put in jeopardy when Nami, a know-it-all water dragon and fathomfolk princess – is exiled to the city, under Mira’s watch. When extremists sabotage a city festival, violence erupts, as does the clampdown on fathomfolk rights. Both Nami and Mira must decide if the cost of change is worth paying, or if Tiankawi should be left to drown.

Shipping Starts: 2nd week of March-2024

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: BOOK-642 Category: Tags: , GTIN: 978-0356522401

Description

Fathomfolk:

Review

Prepare to be engulfed. Chan has superbly created a world as real and complex as our own, where oppression has no easy solutions and there is no success without sacrifice. Fast-paced action combined with true social depth make this an unforgettable, must-read fantasy — Shelley Parker-Chan

A vivid, textured tale of migration, prejudice and change. Wonderful and breathtaking — Aliette de Bodard

A thrilling, incisive fantasy of diaspora and dragons, Fathomfolk is an unmissable debut. if you’re hungry for a beautiful Southeast Asian influenced fantasy with razor-sharp edges, this book is for you — Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine Throne

Life is better down with the fathomfolk. I was dazzled by this novel, which has as many turns as the tide, and hope to see much more of this world and this author — Sarah Rees Brennan

A thrilling tale set in a unique and inventive fantasy world peppered with East Asian and Southeast Asian myth and lore. With complex, daring characters and layered storytelling, Chan’s heartfelt and nuanced exploration of diaspora survival will resonate deeply with readers — June CL Tan

A richly envisioned world and finely crafted tale, Fathomfolk is a luxurious and thrilling story full of political intrigue, heart-wrenching characters and edge-of-your seat tension. A glittering and magical novel from a glorious new voice in fantasy — Bea Fitzgerald

From the glittering city heights to the criminal underbelly on the seafloor, the world of Fathomfolk feels deeply plausible and satisfyingly complex. If you want scheming sirens and snarky sea dragons then this is the book for you. — Thomas D. Lee, author of PERILOUS TIMES

Fathomfolk is a compelling tale about cultures colliding, set against a city backdrop that feels familiar yet fresh. Eliza Chan deftly and compassionately writes about the depths we’ll plunge to, to change our world — G. V. Anderson, World Fantasy Award winner

Eliza Chan’s Fathomfolk has all the feels-furious, bittersweet and heart wrenching. Gripping to the last page, the story stayed with me long after I finished the book. A tour de force! — A. Y. Chao

Gloriously imagined and full of heart — Claire North

Eliza Chan is not just a writer; she is storyteller. In her deft hand Fathomfolk bursts with complex relationships, original world building, and timeless questions. With the confidence and command of a seasoned master, Chan weaves a riveting tale which seized me from the first word and did not let go until the end. A triumph of imagination, birthed from the mind of one who loves stories and knows how to tell them well — Tobi Ogundiran

Book Description

Revolution is brewing in the semi-submerged city of Tiankawi, between humans and the fathomfolk – sirens, sea witches, kelpies, and kappas – who live in its waters. This debut fantasy inspired by East Asian mythology and watery folk tales is perfect for fans of Jade City, The Bone Shard Daughter and House of Earth and Blood.

About the Author

Eliza Chan is a Scottish-born Chinese-diaspora author who ‘writes about East Asian mythology, British folklore and reclaiming the dragon lady, but preferably all three at once.’ Eliza’s work has been published in The Dark, Podcastle, Fantasy Magazine and The Best of British Fantasy, and her non-fiction has appeared on Tor.com. She lives in the North of England with her partner and young child.

Author can be found online at: https://www.elizachan.co.uk/

Have a look at our collection : Click Here

Additional information

Weight500 g
Dimensions24 × 18 × 5 cm
Binding Style

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Fathomfolk”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

Shopping cart

0
image/svg+xml

No products in the cart.

Continue Shopping