Previous
Once and Future Witches

The Once and Future Witches

880.00
Next

Black 13

410.00
Black 13

The Black Flamingo

419.00599.00

Free Shipping

“Intensely moving and heart-warming” Cosmo
“Bold” Guardian
“I loved every word” Malorie Blackman

This is not about being ready, it’s not even about being fierce, or fearless, IT’S ABOUT BEING FREE.

Michael waits in the stage wings, wearing a pink wig, pink fluffy coat and black heels.

One more step will see him illuminated by spotlight.

He has been on a journey of bravery to get here, and he is almost ready to show himself to the world in bold colours …

Can he emerge as The Black Flamingo?

Shipping Starts:
Paperback: 05-March-2021
Hardcover: 05-Jan-2021

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
SKU: BOOK-071 Category: Tags: ,

Description

The Black Flamingo:

Review

Celebratory and passionate, Atta’s bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth (The Guardian)

The short lines give Michael’s story an epigrammatic quality and an urgent pace that is deeply involving. A compact hardback edition, it has been beautifully produced by Hodder (Financial Times)

A powerful and revealing young adult novel…bold, tender and full of blossoming moments of heartache and joy (Attitude)

One of poetry’s greatest modern voices…The Black Flamingo is a powerful coming-of-age story about finding who you are, all told in beautifully-written verse…with an overarching message of embracing who you are and showing your true colours in the world that often imposes mundanity, it’s a book that anyone can appreciate (Gay Times)

A force to be reckoned with, and a voice that demands to be heard (PRIDE magazine)

A deeply moving story of love, self belief and identity. It is a wonderfully honest and moving read – perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Sarah Crossan. told through beautifully constructed poetry, this is the coming of age story of Michael, a mixed race gay teen. Readers will be completely absorbed by Michael’s personal journey, and will laugh, cry and cheer for him (The Scotsman)

Ultimately inspiring (Irish Times)

A moving coming-of-age story, written with heart and panache (Irish Independent)

Beautifully constructed poetry (Scottish Booktrust)

A gorgeous and moving first person exploration of sexuality, poetry, blackness and love…a nuanced piece of freeform verse that oozes with warmth, insight and forgiveness…a beautiful piece of work, filled with love and insight and words I would have longed to read as a teenager/20-something and still to hear them again as an adult (The Queer Review)

 

About the Author

Named as one of the most influential LGBT people in the UK by the Independent on Sunday and “one of poetry’s greatest modern voices” by Gay Times, poet Dean Atta’s work has appeared on BBC One, BBC Radio 4, BBC World Service and Channel 4, often dealing with themes of gender, identity, race and growing up. Dean regularly performs across the UK and internationally. He is a member of Keats House Poets Forum and Malika’s Poetry Kitchen, as well as a Tutor for Arvon and Poetry School. Dean’s debut poetry collection was shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize. His latest book, The Black Flamingo, follows a mixed-race gay teen as he spreads his wings at university as a drag performer; a bold story about embracing your uniqueness and finding your inner strength.
Have a look at our collection : Click Here

Additional information

Weight600 g
Dimensions22 × 16 × 5 cm
Binding Style

Hardcover, Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Black Flamingo”

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like…

Shopping cart

0
image/svg+xml

No products in the cart.

Continue Shopping